1. Watch the referee's positioning in the play that leads to the red card. Was his positioning poor, good or excellent?
Start the video at 1:10. As the play develops into a counter attack for the orange team note how the referee recognizes the fast break and he sprints to keep up with the play. In the move he is never more than 15 metres from the ball. Notice how he adjusted the angle of his run as the play progressed and he stayed out of the player’s paths.
When the challenge comes he is in an excellent position to make the correct call. This is a direct free kick as the foul is just outside the penalty area, but it's also a DOGSO. The subsequent red card is the correct decision.
This was excellent positioning from the referee. He was always in close proximity to the play so his decision was not only right but it also has credibility.
2. Did the AR get the offside call correct at 1:12?
Law 11 states
A player is in an offside position if:
Stop the video at 1:11 and you will see that the black player is passing the ball to #29. At the moment the ball is kicked you can see a white defender in the centre of the field who is closer to his goal line than #29.
If you progress the video you will see that the white goalkeeper is also closer to his goal line than #29 when the ball is passed.
Therefore, there are two defenders closer to the goal line than #29. The AR has got this one correct. #29 has beaten the offside trap and the AR was correct in keeping his flag down.
3. Should the penalty kick have been retaken? Explain your answer
Penalty kicks are covered by law 14.
Part 1 of law 14 states that
The players other than the kicker and goalkeeper must be:
As the kick is taken 3 red players, #7, 11 and 20, are all inside the penalty area, therefore an offence has taken place.
The 2nd part of law 14 covers the sanctions for this as follows.
· if a team-mate of the goalkeeper offends:
Therefore, this penalty kick should have been retaken.
4. Why was the pink teams goal disallowed? Should the player have been cautioned for this?
The pink striker has used his hand to punch the ball into the net. This is a clear handball and a direct free kick to the blue team.
The striker should be cautioned for this. This scenario is one of those listed as a caution for unsporting behavior in law 12.